An exciting day!

spoonful-of-sugar-cover-smallerMy third book was published today!! This is the glorious moment that all we writers hope and hope will happen to us. A book. On a shelf. In a bookshop. With our name on it. That someone will buy, and read and enjoy! (Obviously that last bit is rarely confirmed, unless someone is kind enough to say so on an online review page. But I do hope people will enjoy it!)
                             The life of a writer can be a very strange one indeed: we are often to be found sitting alone in a room, hunched over a laptop typing away for day after day, week after week, month and month and even year after year, all the while hoping that some of what we’re conjuring up in our befuddled, over-caffeinated brains makes sense to anyone else out there. And then, one brilliant, happy, wonderful day, something happens that makes all the deleting, swearing, sweating, cursing and crying worthwhile: we see our book in a BOOK SHOP!!!! This is exactly what happened to me today when I walked nervously into my local branch of Waterstone’s and Borders, hoping to glimpse  a cover or two (hell, or three or more!) of my latest book, A Spoonful of Sugar. And there it was!!! At such moments the desire to rush across the shop floor, kiss said books and fall the floor crying clutching a handful of the beauties is pretty overwhelming, and but thanks to a radio interview I was dangerously close to being late for, I merely managed a small skip and a jump, a cheesy grin, and I was out of there again.
                                 If you want to join me in my little celebration – and find out how to give your kids a proper childhood while you’re at it – then you can do so by visiting any branch of the aforementioned book shops, as well as Tesco, Sainsburys and of course going onto Amazon, and purchasing your very own copy of the magnificent A Spoonful of Sugar – Old-fashioned Wisdom for Modern-day Mothers. Quite simply the most important book about childhood and parenting to be written for a very, very, VERY long time! Enjoy.
Liz x

7 thoughts on “An exciting day!

  1. sophie

    Hi, I love reading ur books!! My mother bought me your first book when I was pregnant with my daughter and it was like my bible!! I was a single mother without a clue in the world about children! Your book was such an easy read with bullet points, other mummies and daddies in the same situation. Since becoming engaged and having a second child your family book is always at reach. It’s really great to read about how children should be children, when I take my own to groups they always leave the messiest n muddiest! The looks I get off other mothers is unbelievable sometimes it’s a look of ”are you mad??” And ”your only a young mum so you can’t be very good anyway” it really is horrible that people judge so much on age, colour, how you look, how your children play or throw tantrums! I cannot wait to get your next book, I didn’t know there was another till now and don’t get paid for a couple more days!! Congrats on the brilliantly, helpful, beautiful books!

    Reply
  2. Gemma

    Hi Liz, I am in the middle of reading ‘A Spoonful of Sugar’ and wanted to say how much I am enjoying it. I am neither a mum nor pregnant though I hope to have a family some day. I am very keen on not losing the things our grandparents did and believed in when so many of these things make more sense than what we have now! Researching for this book must have been a really special time. I know my Nan would have shared many beliefs and principles to your Gran. This is so up my street that I wanted to say thank you. Good luck with your future books, I will definitely keep an eye out for them.

    Reply
  3. Olga

    Hi Liz, i no am not a mother yet eithe but have read your yummy mummy guide to surviving motherhood and LOVED it. I borrowed it from my local book shop but now i need to get my own copy because we are planning to start a family soon and i will need to have it close by at all times. Thanks for your generosity in sharing all you have learnt and also for your transparency and courage to show us the real you. I think u are really cool 🙂 🙂

    Reply
  4. Olga

    oh and i just realised i went off on a total tangent… in relation to this topic… i want to buy the Spoonful of Sugar book too 🙂

    Reply
  5. venita bali

    Hi Liz,

    Thanks so much for the Yummy Mummy Survival Guide and Family Handbook. I have enjoyed reading them both very much and nice to know that I am not alone in what goes on in the everyday life of being a mum.
    No one TALKS about all the stuff that goes on and the things that are a struggle at times with being a new mum.
    Looking forward to reading A Spoonful of Sugar.

    There are days you wonder what happened to your life when you have children and how challenging it all is. Both your first 2 books I could relate with the madness and happiness children bring into your life.

    I hope you keep writing.

    Regards

    Venita

    (Brisbane, Australia)

    Reply
    1. lizfraser Post author

      Hi Venita.
      Thank you SO much for your LOVELY email. It’s so, so cheering to hear that my books make a difference, make people smile and make them feel better! Keep up the good work on the home front, and hope you enjoy Spoonful. It’s a little less funny, but some very good messages in it from my amazing Granny.
      all best, Liz 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

